Nebraska addresses mental wellness with new transgender law

Nebraska addresses mental wellness with new transgender law

Nebraska addresses mental wellness with new transgender law

Thanks to a new state law, Nebraska is helping transgender-confused children who are dealing with mental health issues by establishing strict requirements for obtaining body-altering drugs.

Fulfilling terms of the Let Them Grow Act, the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services has adopted what it calls “emergency regulations” for the non-surgical treatment of anyone 18 and younger. A minimum of 40 hours of licensed therapy, a seven-day waiting period, and parental consent are required, according to NDHHS.   

The Let Them Grow Act was signed into law by Gov. Jim Pillen.

Before the new medical rules were introduced, a child could obtain hormone treatments after just one doctor’s visit, says Nate Grasz of Nebraska Family Alliance.

“And we want to make sure that children are getting the help that they need,” he tells AFN, “rather than harmful drugs and surgeries with lifelong irreversible consequences.”

Even though the term “gender dysphoria” is used by the American Psychiatric Association to describe transgender people, the mental state of people who feel they were born in the wrong body is rarely mentioned by LGBT activists, politicians, and media outlets. Even worse, the APA called the condition “gender identity disorder” until 2013, when it dropped the term under pressure to do so because it was considered cruel and inhumane.

Now, 10 years later, the transgender movement has exploded and become a left-wing ideology about "being your authentic self" with no mention of mental health. The movement has also moved from the psychiatrist’s office to school classrooms, where mentally confused teachers are teaching new pronouns and reading children’s books to confused children.

“A child is not old enough to get a tattoo or to buy cough syrup over the counter,” Grasz points out. “Why would we permit dangerous hormones and drastic surgeries for them?”

Gov. Pillen signed the bill into law in May, but Planned Parenthood and the ACLU sued to stop it because the new law also bans abortions at 12 weeks gestation. A judge dismissed the lawsuit last month.